Home | Programs | Directors | Membership | Grants          s
Scholarships | Tribute | Contact Us            

Spring 2017 Scholarship Winners Announced!


Spring 2017 Scholarship Winners
For the photo - From Left to Right:  Scholarship recipient  Annette Thompson , Laura Burke  WISE Women Scholarship committee member, Gority Scholarship recipient Maliqua K. Walker, Lisa Merschiltz, WISE Women Vice President  and WISE Women Scholarship Committee Chair,  Scholarship recipient  Tracie Cobb Irvin,  and Florence Shuss, WISE Women Board Secretary and WISE Women Scholarship committee member. Missing from photo is Scholarship recipient Mary Anne Cowfer.


WISE Women of Blair County is pleased to announce the scholarship winners for the Spring 2017 term. These scholarships are available to women residents of Blair County 21 years of age and older who have overcome adversity in their lives and are pursuing post-secondary education.  


A total of $12,000.00 was awarded to the following three women: Tracie Cobb Irvin who is student in the Bachelor of Science degree program for Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences Major at Penn State Altoona; Mary Anne Cowfer, who is a student in the Bachelor of Science degree Program for Psychology at St Francis University; and Annette Thompson who is a student in the Associates of Science degree program for Business Management at Penn Highlands Community College.  

This year, the second Donna Gority Scholarship was awarded to Maliqua K. Walker who is a student in the Bachelor of Arts degree program for dual degrees Criminology and Psychology at Mt. Aloysius College.


To obtain an application packet, visit www.wisewomenofblaircounty.org.  For further information, please email  us at wisewomenofblaircounty@yahoo.com.